Bermuda Triathlon Association - Annual Awards Dinner – 23 November 2013

The Official website for the Bermuda Triathlon Association, the National Governing Body for triathlon and other multi-sports in Bermuda

Note: This site depends on modern web technologies to deliver a rich user experience. It seems that either your browser is outdated, or Javascript is disabled. Please consider upgrading your browser or enabling Javascript.

The BTA Annual Awards Dinner was held at the Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club on 23 November. In addition to our very special guest Bevan Docherty, a two time triathlon Olympic medalist and world champion, we were joined by Bermuda’s own Olympian Tyler Butterfield.
It was a great evening! Dave Morrison gave Bevan an exceptional introduction, in part by sharing video footage of finishes from some of his key races. Bevan then shared anecdotes about his history in growing from a struggling newbie to the world class triathlete and Ironman he is today. The support of Monacan royalty played a surprising role!
The audience was also fascinated by a subsequent Q&A session (in Charlie Duffy’s case, admittedly mainly to hear more about Bevan’s attractive sister.)
BTA President Jenn Gunn then took the microphone and revealed this year’s award winners, as set out below.
To round off the evening, Maria Duffy did another outstanding job with the raffle, ably assisted by young ticket-sellers. Martin Bolton confused us all as well as himself, yet charmed the audience into shelling out large quantities of cash during the auction. Thankfully on this occasion he restricted himself to only trying on a helmet. Tyler graciously allowed Martin to auction a personal coaching session. To Tyler’s alarm, the length varied from one hour to two weeks depending on whom Martin was trying to extort at the time.
Congratulations and thank you to everyone who pitched in to make the evening–and all the events during Bevan’s visit–so successful. Particular thanks to Dave Morrison, Jennifer Gunn and her family, Sheryl Richardson, Alan Gilbertson, Mark Wilcox, Mark Robinson, Maria Duffy, Deanna Didyk, Patty Petty, Bicycle Works, Tyler Butterfield, Martin Bolton and Sportseller. (Please let [email protected] know of any inadvertant omissions!)
Well done to the award winners for the 2013 season, who were:


Triathlete of the year: Jonathan Herring
Junior triathlete of the year  Tyler Smith
Best new triathlete of the year: Tucker Murphy
Most improved triathlete of the year: Mark Robinson


Triathlete of the year: Laurie Orchard
Junior triathlete of the year: Rebecca Harrison
Best new triathlete of the year: Natalie Luthi
Most improved triathlete: Heather Cooper
Special recognition: Erica Hawley and Tristan Narraway

Other Awards

Long service award: St John’s Ambulance
Special achievement award: Tyler Butterfield
Club Person of the Year award: Alan Gilbertson

Become a BTA member today

You can become a BTA member by clicking the link below, or visit our Membership page for detailed instructions.

Sign up online