Bermuda Triathlon Association - BTA Awards Dinner 2017

The Official website for the Bermuda Triathlon Association, the National Governing Body for triathlon and other multi-sports in Bermuda

Note: This site depends on modern web technologies to deliver a rich user experience. It seems that either your browser is outdated, or Javascript is disabled. Please consider upgrading your browser or enabling Javascript.

The Bermuda Triathlon Association held its 2017 awards dinner on Saturday 20 January at the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club. Some 120 triathletes and family members attended a fantastic evening, and were treated to a surprise visit by WTS double world champion (among other titles) Flora Duffy, who made time from her busy schedule with world renowned triathlon journalists to present awards to our junior triathletes, and by Ironman Tyler Butterfield and legend Jim Butterfield, who gave a fantastic presentation on Kona Ironman, then and now.  The audience was warmed up by the very entertaining recovering triathlete Greg Hopkins, who ably demonstrated Long Service Award winner Patty Petty’s draft marshalling techniques.  Award winners were:

Best new triathlete female-Maddy Durkin

Best new triathlete male –Alan Potts

Most inproved triathlete female – Liz Stewart

Most improved triathlete male – Otis Ingham

Peter Grayston special achievement award – Tyler Smith

John Buchanan club person of the year – Alec Shepherd

Jim Butterfield long service award – Patty Petty

Olympic distance National champion female – Ashley Estwanik

Olympic distance National champion male – Geoff Smith

Sprint distance National champion female – Karen Smith

Sprint distance National champion male – Alan Potts

Junior Triathlete of the year 7-10 female – Charlotte Millington

Junior Triathlete of the year 7-10 male – Callum McFarlane

Junior Triathlete of the year 11-14 female – Jessie Marshall

Junior Triathlete of the year 11-14 male – Nick Pilgrim

Senior Triathlete of the year amateur female – Karen Smith

Senior Triathlete of the year amateur male – Matt Thompson

Senior Triathlete of the year professional female – Flora Duffy

Senior triathlete of the year professional male – Tyler Butterfield

The BTA Executive would like to congratulate all awards winners and all those who attended the dinner. Special thanks to all our sponsors, to the RBYC for hosting a fantastic evening with excellent food and beverage, and to Tim Palmer for his donation in resurrecting and engraving the perpetual trophies. Finally, special thanks to President Steve Petty and other members of the Executive who worked hard to arrange the dinner, and to Jim and Tyler Butterfield for their presentation.  A few photos have been uploaded to the Gallery Section of the website.  If anyone has any other photos, they can be uploaded if you e-mail them to 

Become a BTA member today

You can become a BTA member by clicking the link below, or visit our Membership page for detailed instructions.

Sign up online